Yellow Squash Cornbread

Yellow Squash Cornbread

The amount of yellow squash (well, squash in general) I have gotten in the past several weeks in my CSA boxes is almost overwhelming. I’m not complaining. I love squash and have been happily using all of it. There has just been a lot. I have sautéed it, put it on savory tarts, made quick breads with it, added it to veggie enchiladas, fried it, put it in soups, made casseroles with it, and  tossed it with pasta. It seems that no matter how much squash I use in recipes, I continue to find more of it tucked away in the veggie crisper. I’ve been wondering if it is multiplying overnight in the fridge.

Tonight I added mashed yellow squash to a basic cornbread recipe. I was super happy with the results. The gluten-free cornbread was moist and the flavor was not overpowered by the squash. I really liked the idea of the added nutrition the squash brings to the cornbread.  I will definitely be making this again. I served the yellow squash cornbread with black-eyed peas and fried cabbage. Southern comfort food.

Update: I made a cornbread dressing with leftover yellow squash cornbread and half a loaf of French bread. Turned out well and you could not tell there was squash in it at all. Good stuff.

Yellow Squash Cornbread

4 medium yellow squash, ends trimmed, sliced
2 cups yellow cornmeal
1 tablespoon baking powder
3 tablespoons sugar (or to taste)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1/4 cup canola (or corn) oil
2 eggs

Preheat the oven to 400° F. Spray a cast iron skillet with cooking spray and set aside.

Bring the sliced yellow squash and enough water to cover to a boil. Cook until the squash is tender. Drain well in a colander. Mash the drained squash (I use a potato masher) and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the cornmeal, baking powder, sugar, and salt. In another bowl, combine the milk, oil, and eggs. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture and stir to combine. Add the mashed squash and mix until well combined. Pour into the prepared cast iron skillet and bake at 400° F. until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 35 – 40 minutes.


12 Comments on “Yellow Squash Cornbread”

  1. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Very southern indeed! I am about to be overwhelmed with yellow squash. We have a ton of baby squash forming now! This looks like something my husband would enjoy since he loves cornbread.

    • My husband really liked this cornbread because it wasn’t dry. I was just thrilled that I was able to use 4 squash! : ) I planted my squash seeds late this year. I know I planted zucchini and white scallop squash (my 4 year old picked out the seeds). I can’t remember if I planted yellow squash. At this point, I hope I didn’t. LOL.

      • MamaD1xx4xy says:

        I may actually plant more zucchini seeds this week in the spot where I pulled the last of the lettuces. We have much more yellow squash than zucchini and I am loving zucchini noodles right now!

      • Zucchini is my favorite. I made lasagna using zucchini instead of pasta a couple of weeks ago. It turned out much better than I expected.

        How do you make your zucchini noodles? Do you have a special tool?

  2. […] my CSA. I was a little desperate to find new ways to use it. I had success using yellow squash in Yellow Squash Cornbread and in Summer Squash Bread, so I was pretty sure I could pull it off in chocolate […]

  3. Natalie says:

    I just tried out this recipe to use of some of the bounty of summer squash in my CSA. box. I didn’t expect the result–the squash gave it a velvetty, almost creamy texture and imparted a subtle flavor of yum. This is a keeper, and so simple, too.

    • I’m so glad you liked it! I know how it is to be overwhelmed with squash from your CSA. This recipe is a great way to use it up. Thanks for coming by and letting me know how it turned out for you.

      • JENNIFER says:

        Any idea how many cups of yellow squash is used in this recipe? “4” small, medium, or large squash?

      • Use medium-sized yellow squash. I am going to guess that 4 sliced medium yellow squash comes out to about 6 cups before cooking. Once the squash is cooked, mashed, and drained, it comes out to about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of squash that goes into the cornbread.

  4. Bettina says:

    How many cups is 4 yellow squash? I’m roasting some butternut right now and would love to try this recipe with substituting. If I can get idea of how many cups of cooked squash I need, I will just substitute 1:1.

    thanks

    Bettina

    • Sorry for the late response. I didn’t have power or internet for awhile because of Hurricane Matthew. I’m not really sure how much butternut squash equals 4 yellow squash. If I had to guess, I’d say about 1 1/2 cups of pureed butternut squash. I’m really interested if you attempted Butternut Squash Cornbread. It could be interesting.


Leave a comment