Chocolate Yellow Squash Cake

Chocolate Yellow Squash Cake 2

I might have been slightly delirious when I came up with the idea to hide some yellow squash in chocolate cake. At the time, I was knee deep in squash from my CSA. I was a little desperate to find new ways to use it. I had success using yellow squash in Yellow Squash Cornbread and in Summer Squash Bread, so I was pretty sure I could pull it off in chocolate cake.

Chocolate Yellow Squash Cake

Oh my gosh, it was so good, y’all! I was super happy with the result. It was moist and chocolatety. So delicious! You could not tell the cake had squash in it aside from the little flecks of yellow squash on top of the cake after it was baked. The frosting totally covered it up, so problem solved. My 4 year old had no idea. He loved it. My 14 year old son wouldn’t try it (extremely picky eater) because he heard me telling my husband of my plans to use squash in the cake. His loss. The Yellow Squash Cake was awesome!

RECIPE UPDATE: I had someone comment that I must have forgotten the eggs in this recipe since her batter was very dry. There are no eggs in this recipe. The squash releases it’s moisture and it should come together in the end. My cake turned out very moist, although a little more dense than most cakes. I’m sure several factors (humidity, moisture content of the squash, etc…) could make this cake dry.  Make sure you firmly pack the squash into the measuring cup to ensure you get enough squash in the batter to make it moist. Do not decrease the amount of oil or sugar. The batter should not be dry and crumbly or super thick (as in, if you have to press the batter into the pan, something is wrong). If you felt like you need to add 2 eggs, go ahead. The result would probably be a lighter cake.  If you still have a problem with dry, crumbly batter, then try mixing in a liquid (milk or water) a tablespoon at a time until the batter is at a thick, but pourable (with the help of a spatula) consistency.

Chocolate Yellow Squash Cake 3

Chocolate Yellow Squash Cake

1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 firmly packed cups shredded yellow squash

1/4 cup butter
2 cups powdered sugar
6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray a 9 x 13-inch cake pan

In a large bow, mix together the oil, sugar, and 2 teaspoons vanilla with an electric mixer until well blended. In another bowl, combine the flour, 1/2 cup cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the oil and sugar mixture. Fold in the shredded yellow squash. Your batter should be thick, but pourable with the help of a spatula. If your batter is dry and crumbly, try adding a little milk, a tablespoon at a time, until the batter comes together. Pour batter into prepared cake pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let the cake cool completely.

To make the frosting, cream the butter in a mixing bowl. Gradually add the powdered sugar, cocoa powder, milk, and vanilla extract. Beat until it all comes together and is a spreadable consistency. Spread the frosting over the cooled cake.

 

22 Comments on “Chocolate Yellow Squash Cake”

  1. smitibeth says:

    Cool, that’s more squash than in most zucchini bread recipes! I made beet brownies once, and even that worked, so I bet the squash is great in it.

  2. Tracey choplick says:

    Recipe needs to be reviewed before posting…… EGGS are the missing ingredient, w/o eggs it is just a crumbled mess of batter….. Ugh. I added two eggs at end, in oven now ……hope this works

  3. Tracey choplick says:

    So did you have press the batter into pan?…

    • No. My batter was not that dry. The squash does release moisture while baking, so it does come together I’m the end. My cake was very moist, although a little more dense than most cakes. The addition of eggs will probably make it lighter. You will have to let me know how yours turns out.

    • I’m curious….how did it turn out?

      • Tracy says:

        Was ok, would prob try 3 eggs IF I made it again ever…… A little dry. A friend at work tried recipe too and her batter was crumbly as mine ( I thought I did something wrong ).

      • Bummer. I appreciate your feedback. I’m going to make this again soon and see if there are improvements I can make to the recipe. I’m wondering if a little liquid (milk) a tablespoon at a time would help.

      • Tracy says:

        The icing was to die for!!! Yum

  4. Tracey choplick says:

    Hi. I tried this cake tonight again WITHOUT EGGS OR ADDED LIQUID & consistency was perfect, so it may have been weather or something I did incorrect the first time. Hopefully it tastes great too, taking to a family dinner tomorrow night!,, I will let ya know.

  5. Matea says:

    I’ve heard of zucchini chocolate cakes, but not squash chocolate cakes! It looks delicious! Must be a great way to get kids to eat their veggies, as long as you don’t tell them 🙂

  6. I made this recipe yesterday and the result was awesome. I used two bags of frozen yellow squash I’d put up late last Summer. I just thawed them out and drained them a tiny bit. I was amazed. Must admit I was a bit put off at the batter until I put the squash in. I let it mix well, only adding one tablespoon of milk. The cake turned out better than expected. My husband is a chocolate junkie and with the frosting..he was in heaven. Thanks for posting this. Will make this again! By the way…no problem for me with no eggs.

    • Yay! I’m so glad it turned out well and y’all enjoyed the cake. I love that you used frozen squash. Thank you so much for your feedback. I’m happy other people are enjoying this cake so much.

      • Next year I’ll make sure I put up more shredded squash and zucchini. Just for cakes in the deep of Winter like this one. I had just put the squash up “just in case”. I’d thought I wouldn’t have a use for it but, I always hate to waste the garden bounty. Thanks again for the recipe. Hey folks…don’t worry about the EGGS!

  7. Jane says:

    This is absolutely selfish! My husband ate it because he didn’t know it had squash in. He loved it too!


Leave a Reply

