Beef Stroganoff

Beef Stroganoff

beef stroganoff

This is an excellent recipe.  I have made it numerous times and it is fabulous every time.  I have adjusted and experimented with this recipe in various ways.  I have made a decent vegetarian version using vegetable bouillon instead of beef and by replacing the beef with mushrooms and serving it over egg noodles.  I have also tried a meat analog (Worthington vegetable steaks) once and didn’t like that at all.  But for the most part when I cook this, I follow the recipe, except for using a less expensive cut of beef (sirloin, London broil, etc…).   To save money and extend the recipe, I add 16 ounces of sliced mushrooms around the same time I add the beef (which I use less than a pound of).  I cook double the amount of sauce and serve it all over egg noodles (with the fried potatoes on top).  Instead of cutting matchsticks, I grate the potato, squeeze out as much liquid as possible and fry in small batches until golden and crispy.  I usually do this before I cook the stroganoff.  Anyway, it’s a classic dish and one I am glad to have in my repertoire.

Beef Stroganoff

4 T. butter
2 T. flour
1 tsp. dry mustard
1 cup rich beef bouillon
1/4 cup sour cream
1 small yellow onion, peeled and thinly sliced
1 1/2 pounds beef tenderloin, sliced into pieces 3″ long X 1″ wide X 1/8″ thick
salt and pepper, to taste
vegetable oil
4 russet potatoes, peeled ans sliced into 1/8″ matchsticks
2 T. chopped parsley

Melt 2 T. of the butter in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Add flour and dry mustard and stir with a wooden spoon for 2 minutes.  Gradually add bouillon, whisking constantly until thick, about 2 minutes. Stir in sour cream, remove from heat, and set aside.

Melt remaining 2 T. butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add onions and cook until soften and lightly golden, about 5 minutes.  Increase heat to high, add meat and saute until just cooked through, 2 to 3 minutes. Reduce heat to low and add reserved sauce.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Meanwhile, pour oil into a deep medium pot to a depth of 1 1/2″, and heat over medium heat to 365 degrees on a candy thermometer.  Fry potatoes in batches until golden and crisp, about 3 minutes.  drain on paper towels; season to taste with salt while still warm.

Spoon stroganoff onto a serving platter, and cover with a mound of jumbled straw potatoes.  Garnish with parsley

Recipe source:  Saveur (Sept./Oct. 2000 issue).  They adapted the recipe from Darra Goldstein’s Taste of Russia (Russian Life Books, 3rd edition, 1999).


One Comment on “Beef Stroganoff”

  1. […] making it again soon. And why not? This Eggplant Stroganoff has almost half of the calories of my Beef Stroganoff and is totally satisfying. You will not miss the meat in this […]


Leave a comment