Eggplant Stroganoff

Eggplant Stroganoff

I’ve been getting some beautiful eggplants in my Pinckney’s Produce CSA box so far this season. I’m always looking for new ways to prepare eggplant. Each week CSA members get an email early in the week with the contents of the week’s box, news from the farm, and a recipe to use some of the produce. This recipe for Eggplant Stroganoff was featured in last week’s email. It was mentioned that the recipe given produces a runny sauce. I thought I could avoid that problem by preparing the sauce separately from the veggies and reducing the amount of liquid. I think my adaptation of Eggplant Stroganoff turned out well.

My husband had reservations about trying the Eggplant Stroganoff. He’s not a big fan of eggplant, but he admitted that he liked it and then had seconds. I wasn’t a 100% certain I would like it, but it was actually super-delicious. I finished off the leftovers for lunch today and am already thinking about making it again soon. And why not? This Eggplant Stroganoff has almost half of the calories of my Beef Stroganoff and is totally satisfying. You will not miss the meat in this dish.

Eggplant Stroganoff

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, peeled, halved, and thinly sliced
1 Italian eggplant (or two small), cut into 1-inch cubes (no need to peel the eggplant)
8 ounces mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
3 tablespoons butter
3 tablespoons flour
1 1/2 teaspoons dry mustard powder
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth (I used 1 1/2 cups water and 2 Knorr vegetable bouillon cubes)
1/2 cup sour cream (you can use low-fat)
salt and pepper, to taste

cooked egg noodles, warmed

Melt 3 tablespoons of butter in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Whisk in the flour and dry mustard and cook for a minute. Gradually add the vegetable broth, whisking constantly until thick, about 2 minutes. Stir in the sour cream. Season with salt and pepper and keep warm on low heat.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over high heat. Add the onions and cook until they start to soften. Add the eggplant and mushrooms. Season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring often, until the eggplant is tender, about 5 minutes. Pour reserved sauce over the eggplant mixture and stir gently to combine. Reduce heat and simmer a  few minutes more. Serve over warm egg noodles.

 

 

 

2 Comments on “Eggplant Stroganoff”

  1. Katie says:

    Wow, I’m definitely trying your version! How neat!

  2. […] gotten sooo many eggplants from my CSA the past four or five weeks.  I have made Eggplant Stroganoff, oven-fried eggplant, Thai Chicken and Eggplant Curry, Eggplant Parmesan, Roasted Ratatouille, […]


Leave a Reply

