Baked Eggplant “Meatballs”

Baked Eggplant Meatballs

I’ve gotten sooo many eggplants from my CSA the past four or five weeks.  I have made Eggplant Stroganoff, oven-fried eggplant, Thai Chicken and Eggplant Curry, Eggplant Parmesan, Roasted Ratatouille, eggplant chips, and Baba Ganoush. Even after all of that, I still had 7 (!) eggplants in my fridge. Honestly, at this point, I’m not that gung-ho about eating more eggplant, but I don’t want them to go to waste either.

This recipe uses 4 eggplants (yay!) and turned out better than I expected. My hubby even liked them. On their own, they were a little bland for my taste and when I make them again, I will be a little more liberal with the salt and maybe even add a dried Italian herb blend and/or fresh basil to the mix. They were great with spaghetti sauce.

This recipe made 50 “meatballs” and can easily be halved. I froze a bunch of the “meatballs” for future meals. I was thinking they may be good for a vegetarian taco filling or for “meatball” subs.

These Eggplant “Meatballs” were great on top of spaghetti. I also tried them on top of spaghetti squash. This is a great option for a low-calorie meal. 1 cup of cooked spaghetti squash, 1/2 a cup of spaghetti sauce, and 3 Eggplant “Meatballs” comes in under 200 calories. I joked that it tasted like “I’d rather be fat” but seriously, it wasn’t bad at all.

Eggplant Meatballs with Spaghetti Squash

Baked Eggplant “Meatballs”

4 medium (Italian) eggplants (or 2 large)
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 cup oat bran
1 – 1 1/2 cups dry bread crumbs
salt and pepper, to taste
cooking spray

Preheat the oven to 375° F.

Using a fork, pierce the eggplants all over. Place the eggplants on a baking sheet and cook in the oven for 1 hour. Remove from the oven and let cool.

Cut off the ends of the eggplants and discard. Peel off the skin. Use a spoon to scrape off any flesh left on the backside of the peel. Place the eggplant flesh in a large bowl. Using a potato masher or hand-held blender, mash the eggplant.

Eggplant Mash

Add the eggs, parmesan cheese, garlic powder, and oat bran to the mashed eggplant; mixing well. Season with salt and pepper. Add the breadcrumbs a 1/2 cup at a time. How much you will use will depend on how wet the mixture is. The mixture needs to be able to hold together when you roll it into balls. I ended up using the full 1 1/2 cups of breadcrumbs. There is a chance you will need more.

Take about a tablespoon of the mixture and roll into a ball. Place on the baking sheet. Continue to roll out eggplant balls until all of the mixture has been used. Lightly spray the eggplant “meatballs” with cooking spray and place in the oven.

Uncooked Eggplant Meatballs

Bake in a 375° oven for 35 to 45 minutes, turning after the first 20 minutes, until golden.

Eggplant Meatballs

2 Comments on “Baked Eggplant “Meatballs””

  1. I’m always looking for new, innovative eggplant ideas – I must try this recipe next eggplant season! https://sustainexistence.wordpress.com/2015/10/30/what-to-do-with-eggplant/


Leave a Reply

