Skillet Eggs with Summer Squash and Kale

Skillet Eggs with Summer Squash and Kale

I made this dish for breakfast this morning to use onions, squash, and kale from this week’s CSA box. I like to incorporate vegetables into my breakfast dishes. I feel like I get a nutritious jump on the day when I do.

I like savory foods, especially eggs, for breakfast. Eggs are one of my favorite protein sources. I like my eggs runny, but my husband likes his egg yolks to be cooked through. I will break the egg yolk in his skillet eggs and stir it a little while it is cooking so that it will cook through.

You can use any summer squash you like for this recipe. I used a zucchini and a yellow squash. You can substitute spinach for kale, if you like.

Skillet Eggs with Summer Squash and Kale 2

Skillet Eggs with Summer Squash and Kale

1 tablespoon oil
1 small onion, quartered and thinly sliced
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced (optional)
2 large summer squash (yellow, crookneck, zucchini, ball, pattypan, etc…), cut into bite-size pieces
1 cup of chopped kale
2 – 4 eggs (1 to 2 eggs per serving)
salt and pepper, to taste
hot sauce or salsa, to serve (optional)

Heat the oil in a skillet (non-stick if you have it) over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook until it starts to become tender, about 4 minutes. Add the minced jalapeno and squash. Cook until the squash starts to become tender, about 4 minutes. Stir in the kale and season the mixture with salt and pepper. Make 2 to 4 wells in the squash mixture and break an egg into each well. Sprinkle a little salt and pepper over each egg. Reduce the temperature to medium and cook until the egg whites are completely set and the yolks have began to thicken (or are cooked to your liking).

Leave a Reply

