Crockpot Black Bean and Barley Chili with Mushrooms and Kale

Crockpot Black Bean and Barley Chili with Mushrooms and Kale

I’m catching up on some blogging.  I have dozens of half-written blog posts that are just waiting to be finished and published. In addition, I have several recipes written on scraps of paper that need to be typed up and hundreds of food picture that need to be sorted and edited. I’m not short on content, just time.  I love blogging about what I am cooking, though. I love that I have created my own digital cookbook and I am happy I can share it.

This is a little something I cooked up this past winter. With this chili, I set out to make one thing and ended up with something totally different. That is not necessarily a bad thing. I ended up with a nutritious and hearty vegan chili that tasted great. I was happy with the results.

Crockpot Black Bean and Barley Chili with Mushrooms and Kale

1 large onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
16 ounces mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
1 14.5 ounce can black beans, drained
1/2 cup barley
4 cups vegetable broth (I used 4 cups water and 2 Knorr Vegetable Bouillon cubes)
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 teaspoon cumin
salt and pepper, to taste (I used 1 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper)
4 cups kale, chopped

Add all the ingredients to the crockpot. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours or on high 3 to 4 hours.

2 Comments on “Crockpot Black Bean and Barley Chili with Mushrooms and Kale”


Leave a Reply

