Cajun Okra Soup

Cajun Okra Soup

I started on my low iodine diet (LID) today to prepare my body to go radioactive in two weeks. I will be on the diet for 16 days. During that time I cannot eat iodized or sea salt, dairy products, soy products, seafood, sea products, potato skins, whole eggs, red dyes, or anything with any of those ingredients in it. I am limited to 5 – 6 ounces of fresh meat and 4 servings of grains a day. I can go off the diet once I have my nuclear whole body scan on March 20th.

I had to do LID around this time last year. By the end of those 16 days I was pretty miserable, more psychologically than anything. I think I am better prepared this time.

I made this soup for lunch today. I used no salt added tomatoes and homemade stock to comply with the rules of LID.

Okra Soup

Cajun Okra Soup

2 tablespoons oil
1 large onion, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
1/2 green bell pepper, diced
1 14. 5 ounce can diced tomatoes
1 pound bag frozen sliced okra
1 zucchini, diced
6 cups vegetable broth
1/4 teaspoon thyme
1/4 teaspoon oregano
1/8 cayenne pepper (or to taste)
salt and pepper, to taste

cooked rice to serve (optional)
hot sauce

Heat the oil in a soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onions, celery, and bell pepper. Cook until the vegetables are tender. Add the remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil and cook until the okra and zucchini are tender. Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve with hot rice and hot sauce.

For LID: use no salt added diced tomatoes and use unsalted or homemade vegetable or chicken broth. Don’t use hot sauce (unless you know it is LID-friendly).

2 Comments on “Cajun Okra Soup”

  1. Katie says:

    Good luck with your treatment! Hopefully you have plenty of goods meals to eat during those weeks.


Leave a Reply

