Fried Cabbage

Fried Cabbage

This is a simple and inexpensive side dish made with cabbage. Cooking the cabbage this way really brings out the sweetness. This recipe is versatile too. I don’t always include the onion when I “fry” cabbage and sometimes I even sprinkle a little bit of bread crumbs into the dish just before I take it off the heat. Sometimes I toss in a pinch of caraway seeds. In the South, Fried Cabbage is often made with bacon and bacon grease. So, if you are a bacon fan, you can fry a few strips of bacon, reserve the cooked bacon, and use the bacon grease to fry the cabbage in instead of butter. Crumble the bacon and add back to the cabbage just before serving.

Fried Cabbage

1 small head green cabbage, cored and shredded
1/2 onion, diced
3 tablespoons butter (or favorite oil)
garlic powder
salt and pepper

Melt the butter in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion and sauté for a couple of minutes. Add the shredded cabbage and season to taste with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. Cook, stirring often, until the cabbage is tender. I like to take it a little further to the point where the cabbage is starting to brown and caramelize.

8 Comments on “Fried Cabbage”

  1. My French Heaven says:

    I love cabbage and I LOVE the dish you put it on!

    • Thank you! The dish is Henn pottery (Gerald Henn Workshops, Ohio). The company went out of business in 2009. I have found many pieces at a fraction of the original cost on ebay.com and at closeout stores over the past few years.

  2. Minimal ingredients that make such a yummy dish! Thanks for this recipe, it’s a reminder that I have to make it again soon!

  3. Katie says:

    I made this last night and needless to say it’s a new staple! I’m so glad I still have two heads of cabbage left form the CSA to make more.

  4. […] to come of with new ways of using it. I have fallen back on old favorites like stir fries, Fried Cabbage, vegetable soups, Southeast Asian Cabbage Salad, Vegetarian Hot and Sour Soup, and Coleslaw. I also […]


Leave a Reply

