Spicy Black Bean and Hominy Soup with Kale

Spicy Black Bean and Hominy Soup with Kale (640x400)

I planted 9 Lacinato kale plants in my flowerbeds and garden earlier this year. Despite deer munching on some of the plants, there is quite of bit of kale ready to be harvested. The kale is a tad bit bitter, so I wanted to cook it rather than use it raw in a salad. I’m a fan of soups made with beans and greens. I had not paired black beans and kale together before, but I thought they went well together. This soup is wonderful. I’m sure using collard greens instead of kale would be equally delicious.

Several times a year, I roast and chop poblano peppers, and freeze them in 1/2 cup portions. I use the frozen chiles in soups, enchiladas, sauces, and egg dishes. Poblanos can vary in heat. The ones I used for this soup were on the spicier side, but the diced avocado I added to my soup bowl helped calm my taste buds.

Spicy Black Bean and Hominy Soup with Kale 2 (640x480)

Spicy Black Bean and Hominy Soup with Kale

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno, seeds removed and chopped (optional)
1 7 ounce can salsa verde (I use Herdez brand)
6 cups vegetable broth
1 small bunch kale, ribs removed and chopped (I prefer Lacinato kale)
1 15.5 ounce can black beans, drained
2 poblano chiles, roasted, skin and seeds removed, and chopped (or a small can of chopped green chiles) – see instructions on roasting chiles below
1 15.5 ounce can hominy, drained
salt and pepper, to taste
fresh cilantro, chopped (about 1/2 a cup and extra for garnish)
avocado

Heat the olive oil over medium heat in a soup pot. Add the onions and sauté until tender. Add the garlic and jalapeno; sauté until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the salsa verde, vegetable broth, and kale. Cook until the kale is tender, about 10 minutes. Add the black beans, roasted poblano chiles, and hominy. Cook until heated through, about 3 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Add the freshly chopped cilantro and serve with diced fresh avocado.

To roast poblano chiles:
Preheat broiler to high. Place poblano chiles on a baking sheet and broil, turning every 5 miutes until each side is blackened and charred. Place in a large bowl and cover with foil. Let stand 15 minutes. Peel chiles, cut in half lengthwise, discard seeds and membranes, and coarsely chop. Set aside.

2 Comments on “Spicy Black Bean and Hominy Soup with Kale”

  1. Very interesting combination of hearty flavors. Very nice!


Leave a Reply

