Creamed Rutabagas

Creamed Rutabagas

I got a bunch of rutabagas in my CSA box today. Rutabagas remind me of my great-grandmother on my dad’s side. I remember eating a meal at her house when I was a little girl and she served mashed rutabagas. I don’t remember anything else about that meal. It’s funny, the things that stay with you. Until I joined my CSA, I hadn’t had rutabaga since the meal at my great-grandmother’s.

I never see rutabagas for sale at grocery stores. One of the many reasons I love being a part of a CSA (community supported agriculture) is getting produce that I can’t or don’t buy otherwise. In this week’s box, there were rutabagas and their greens, bok choy, Bibb lettuce, romaine lettuce, spring onions, collards, kohlrabi, and strawberries.

CSA Box Spring 2014 Week 3 (640x428)

Tonight I made a salad with the Bibb and romaine lettuces, spring onions, and strawberries. I also made a little more gussied up version of mashed rutabagas. Topping with breadcrumbs and baking them in the oven gives them a little texture and crunch. This recipe is not photogenic, but I thought it tasted great.

Creamed Rutabagas

2 pound rutabagas, peeled and diced
4 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons cream (or half and half)
salt and pepper, to taste
1/2 cup bread crumbs
olive oil

Preheat oven to 350° F. Spray a small casserole/baking dish with cooking spray and set aside.

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil. Add the diced rutabagas and cook 15 or until tender. Drain the rutabagas in a colander and return to the pot. Add the butter and cream and puree with an immersion blender. Alternatively, puree the rutabagas (along with the butter and cream) in a blender or food processor. Season the rutabagas to taste with salt and pepper. Transfer the creamed rutabagas to the prepared baking dish and spread evenly. Sprinkle the bread crumbs over the rutabagas and drizzle with a little bit of olive oil. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes and the breadcrumbs are golden brown.

This recipe doesn’t make a lot (maybe 4 small portions). Double it (except maybe for the amount of bread crumbs) if need be.

 

One Comment on “Creamed Rutabagas”

  1. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Looks great! Especially those berries….I am still hooked on strawberries. We just picked more this morning before the Crawfish Festival.


Leave a Reply

