Apple Pie

Apple Pie

This is my mom’s apple pie recipe. It’s a classic. She prefers Rome apples for pie baking, but I use whatever apple appeals to me at the time (except for red delicious – those are not good in pie). Fujis are my current favorite apple for pie.

So, I made the pie pictured above a couple of weeks ago while I was on the low iodine diet (LID) to prepare for my radioactive iodine treatment(RAI) to ablate any thyroid/thyroid cancer cells left in my body. To make this recipe acceptable for LID, I just left out the butter. It wasn’t the prettiest pie I have ever made, but it tasted good (especially since my diet was so limited). I was able to stop the low iodine diet three days after I had my RAI. I was so thrilled to be off that soul-sucking diet. I’m happy to report that my RAI went well and I had very few side-effects (only fatigue and a greatly diminished sense of taste…both which are improving).

Apple Pie

Pie Crust:

2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup Crisco
5 to 6 tablespoons ice cold water

Filling:

6 cups thinly sliced apples
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
4 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon lemon juice (about the amount of juice in half a lemon)

Preheat oven to 425º F.

In a large bowl, cut the Crisco into the flour and salt with a fork or pastry blender. Add the ice cold water one tablespoon at a time until dough comes together. Divide the dough into two halves. Make a ball from one half and roll out to fit the pie pa. Put the rolled out dough into the bottom of a pie pan.

Mix the sliced apples, sugar, flour, and cinnamon together in a large bowl. Pour into the prepared pie crust. Dot with pats of butter and then sprinkle with the fresh lemon juice.

Roll out the remaining pie crust. Place over the top of the pie. Seal the two crusts together. Trim the excess dough and then crimp or flute the edges. Cut a couple of slits in the top crust. Place the pie on a baking sheet and bake at 425º F. for 40 to 50 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and the filling is bubbly. Let cool before serving.

 

 

4 Comments on “Apple Pie”

  1. I am so happy you commented on my blog and it led me to your site! I’m in desperate need of recipes! I have been on the LID for 1.5 weeks and it’s about to send me over the edge!!

  2. Also glad to hear the RAI went well!

    • Thanks. I was so worried about RAI and it wasn’t bad at all. I got 100 mCi and aside from fatigue the first 3 – 4 days and losing my sense of taste 9 days afterwards, I haven’t had any of the dreaded side-effects. I called the Nuclear Medicine Department at the hospital before my RAI and spoke to the Nuclear Safety Officer on a couple of occasions. He was so informative on how to keep my family and myself safe. The more information I had, the better I felt. You really are not a walking “dirty bomb” contaminating everything you touch.


Leave a Reply

