Crockpot Three Lentil Stew with Barley

Three Lentil Stew with Barley

My mom flew in from Austin today. I was worried she wouldn’t make it. It was 67 degrees here in Columbia SC yesterday, but today we were expecting ice and snow from Storm Leon. It has been predicted that we would get 2 – 4 inches (gasp!) of snow from the storm. The city had shut down in anticipation. If you are from other areas of the country, this is laughable. But, it’s a big deal here because most of the South is not prepared to deal with ice and snow. Most southern cities don’t have plows (and if they do, they only have a couple) and some don’t even have salt to treat the roads. Plus, the people in the South don’t know how to drive in icy conditions. South Carolina has some of the worst drivers in the country on a good day, so when snow and ice are added, the results can’t be good. Fortunately, the ice and snow held off until my mom’s plane landed and she got to our house safely.

I needed something easy to fix for dinner. The comfort and warmth of a soup or stew would be perfect for snowy weather. I decided to throw a lentil and barley stew together in the crockpot. I had several different kinds of lentils in the pantry and decided to use them. You could totally make this recipe with 1 1/2 cups of one type of lentil (although I wouldn’t recommend using red lentils, as they kind of just dissolve in the stew). This recipe makes a nice size batch. There is plenty for leftovers or to freeze for future meals.

Crockpot Three Lentil Stew with Barley

1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup red lentils
1/2 cup brown lentils
1/2 cup black lentils (I used beluga)
1 cup pearl barley
1 carrot, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
4 ounces (half a package) of mushrooms, chopped
1 or 2 zucchini, chopped
8  cups vegetable broth
1 teaspoon ground cumin
salt and pepper, to taste

Add all of the ingredients to the crockpot. Cook on high for 3 to 4 hours on high or for 6 to 8 hours on low. You may need to add more broth, depending on how brothy you want your stew.

4 Comments on “Crockpot Three Lentil Stew with Barley”

  1. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Too funny about South Carolina, snow and bad drivers. I know how true that is. We are thinking the same too, our family had chicken and lentil stew tonight. I just love lentils. I like barley too, will have to try it together.

    • Great minds. : ) The roads here in Columbia were not bad today. My husband and I decided to get out and have lunch and see a movie. The movie theater was closed, as were many of the restaurants we tried. We ended up at Pawley’s Front Porch.

      • MamaD1xx4xy says:

        I didn’t even bother going out since experience told me everything closes! The roads in our neighborhood were fine, but I wasn’t about to take all three boys out and not find something to do or somewhere to go. Hope you enjoyed Pawley’s!

  2. People keep telling me about Barley these days. I guess Quinoa’s had its minute in the spotlight? I have to try this barley stuff


Leave a Reply

