Hoppin’ John

Hoppin' John 2
I have eaten black eyed peas on New Year’s day for good luck for as long as I can remember. I’m not sure if they have helped, but I don’t want to jinx 2014. I am facing some serious challenges this year and need all the help I can get. Hoppin’ John is a delicious delivery system for black eyed peas. Served with fresh cornbread, it was a good start to the New Year.

Hoppin' John

Hoppin’ John

4 slices bacon, diced
1 large onion, diced
3 stalks celery, diced
1 green (or red) bell pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup white rice
1 15 ounce can diced tomatoes and juices
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/4 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
2 15.5 ounce cans black eyed peas

In a Dutch oven (or soup pot) over medium-high heat, cook the diced bacon until just crispy. Add the diced onion, celery, bell pepper, and minced garlic. Cook, stirring often, until the vegetables are tender. Stir in the rice, diced tomatoes and their juices, broth, salt, pepper, cumin, cayenne, Old Bay, thyme, and basil. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to low. Place the lid on the pot and cook for 10 minutes. Stir in the black eyed peas and cook 5 minutes more until rice is tender. I like my Hoppin’ John to have just a little bit of liquid remaining, but you can add more if you like.

One Comment on “Hoppin’ John”

  1. A Tablespoon of Liz says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever had black eyed peas… maybe I should start eating them on New Year’s day, and see if I get luckier? recipe looks great!


Leave a Reply

