Tomato Pie

Tomato Pie - Slice
I had never heard of tomato pie until we moved to South Carolina. I’ve heard people around here go on and on about how wonderful it is.  When we were in Charleston this summer, we saw tomato pie advertised at many different restaurants.  It peaked our curiosity. What is the deal with tomato pie?  So, when I started getting tomatoes from my garden (before the leaf-footed bugs destroyed my tomato plants), I made a tomato pie. I looked at half a dozen different recipes and most of them called for 1 cup of mayonnaise. Thinking about that amount of mayo makes me a little nauseous. I used 3/4 a cup of mayonnaise in my tomato pie and thought it was too much. In fact, my husband took two bites and refused to eat any more because the mayonnaise taste was overwhelming.  I didn’t hate the tomato pie, but I didn’t enjoy the mayonnaise topping either. I loved the flavor of the fresh tomatoes, onions, and basil in the pie crust, though. I think for our tastes, a simple topping of shredded mozzarella would have been perfect. I’ll give that a try next summer. If you like mayo, you might really like this savory pie just the way the recipe is written. I would love to hear your comments.

Tomato Pie

Tomato Pie

1 9-inch pie shell
1/2 medium onion, chopped
3 to 4 large, ripe tomatoes, halved, cored, and roughly chopped
handful of fresh basil leaves (about 10 leaves), thinly sliced
1 1/2 cups grated cheese (I used cheddar, but you could use a combination of cheddar and mozzarella or any other combination of cheeses you would like)
1/2 to 1 cup mayonnaise, to taste
salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat the oven to 350° F.

Bake the pie shell in the preheated oven for about 10 minutes or until it becomes lightly golden brown.

Meanwhile, squeeze the juice out of the chopped tomatoes. You can do this with your hands or wrap the tomatoes in a clean kitchen towel and twist to remove the moisture.

Add the chopped onions to the baked pie shell. Top with the tomatoes and then sprinkled the basil over the tomatoes. Season with salt and pepper.

In a bowl, combine the shredded cheese(s) and the mayonnaise. Spread the mixture over the tomatoes.

Bake in the oven for 30 minutes until lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

