Spelt Biscuits

Spelt Biscuits

Spelt is an ancient type of wheat. It contains gluten, but it’s gluten is a little different in that it is water soluble and easier to digest. Those with Celiac Disease should not eat spelt, but people with wheat allergies, intolerances, or who are specifically avoiding wheat  may be able to eat it with no problems.

I have been on a wheat-free, sugar-free, dairy-free (except for butter), soy-free, alcohol-free, fun-free diet since mid-September. I’m trying this diet to help me get my thyroid disease under control (and weight loss would be an added bonus). I feel a tiny bit better since being on the diet and I have less of that hypothyroidism puffiness, but I have not lost any weight (curse you thyroid!). I’m struggling a little right now because the benefits of this diet are not outweighing the suckiness of the diet. I intend to stay on the diet until at least my next doctor’s appointment in November, but all I really want to do is consume crusty bread, goat cheese, and red wine.

I have been thinking of biscuits and gravy lately. I set out to make a wheat-free and dairy-free version. These biscuits actually turned out well. My 13 year old even liked them, which is saying something since he is the pickiest eater in the world. The biggest surprise was the gravy I made using unsweetened almond milk and spelt flour. It was fantastic! I didn’t use exact measurements for the gravy. I just made a roux with a little butter and spelt flour (about 1 tablespoon each) and added almond milk (maybe 1/2 a cup?), a little at a time, and cooked until a gravy came together. The gravy wasn’t pretty, but tasted fine on the spelt biscuits and satisfied my craving.

Spelt Biscuits 2

Spelt Biscuits

2 cups of spelt flour (can be found in bulk bins at natural food stores)
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons shortening
3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

Preheat the oven to 450° F.

Combine the spelt flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. Using a fork, pastry cutter, or your hands, work the shortening into the spelt flour mixture until it looks like crumbs. Add the almond milk and stir until the dough comes together. The dough will be sticky. At this point, you may have to add additional spelt flour if the dough is too wet to get the dough to a state that is easy enough to handle.

Pour the dough out onto a (spelt) floured surface and sprinkle with little more spelt flour. Fold the dough over onto itself a couple of times and then press it out until it’s about an inch thick. Cut out the biscuits and place them on a baking sheet. Reform remaining dough and cut out more biscuits and place them on the baking sheet.

Place the biscuits in the oven and bake until done and golden, 15 to 20 minutes.

Makes 12 biscuits.

2 Comments on “Spelt Biscuits”

  1. It took me a good 6 weeks on a gluten free diet before I lost much weight. Then it started falling off. I’m now down 33lbs and that’s without much effort and hardly any exercise. Husband dropped 40lbs in about 3 months just from me not cooking much with wheat. The kids and I had some skin issues and those are gone. Keep at it…it’s worth it! I tried a spelt product once because I thought it would be ok, but it gave me sore joints at night, just the same as wheat does.

    • I’m so glad you and your family are having a positive experience with a gluten-free diet. I went totally gluten-free earlier this year and after about 3 months, my thyroid went berserk. I only lost 1 pound in those 3 months. I didn’t have any problems adding wheat back into my diet, in fact, I felt better. I’m sure if my endocrine system wasn’t such a mess, I’d be having a better outcome with a wheat-free diet. Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

