Strawberry Bread

Strawberry Bread(640x422)

I bake quick breads and muffins often because my boys, who are very picky eaters, will eat them. I feel like quick breads and muffins are vehicles to get extra fruit (or vegetables) into my children. Plus, they are delicious. I usually have frozen strawberries in the freezer, so I can make this strawberry bread without having to plan ahead too much. My sons really like this strawberry bread (although they prefer it without the pecans).

Strawberry Bread

1 10 oz. package frozen sliced strawberries, thawed
2 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cups sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°.

Spray a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan (or 4 mini bread pans) with cooking spray and set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine strawberries, eggs and oil. In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda, salt and pecans. Add the strawberry mixture to the flour mixture and stir just until blended. Pour batter into loaf pan(s) and bake for 1 hour (35 to 40 minutes for mini loaves), or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

7 Comments on “Strawberry Bread”

  1. Deena Kakaya says:

    How unusual, I really like this! My toddler is obscenely hard to feed and he doesn’t want to do fruit but will eat bread so I will give this a go! X

  2. Heidie Makes says:

    sounds interesting combo strawberry & bread x


Leave a Reply

