Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Goat Cheese

Whole Roasted Cauliflower

I finally made that Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Goat Cheese recipe that has been all over Pinterest and various food blogs. I pinned the recipe months ago, but was reminded of it when I saw a post at Cottage Grove House a couple of weeks ago.

I adapted Bon Appetit’s recipe a bit. For one thing, I omitted the white wine. I’m not going to waste 2 1/2 cups of wine just to boil a cauliflower in it. I also cut back on the salt and fat. The results I got were amazing! I’m seriously in love with preparing cauliflower this way. Boiling the cauliflower first ensures that it is tender. Roasting brings out the sweetness of the cauliflower, but also gives it a caramelized, nutty flavor. The Whipped Goat Cheese was good, but honestly, the cauliflower does not need it.

IMG_2358 (640x480)

I couldn’t help it, I pulled the florets from the whole cauliflower and ate them with my hands. It was an enjoyable experience. : ) I’m so glad I finally prepared this recipe. I will be making this over and over.

Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Goat Cheese

8 cups water
3 tablespoons kosher salt
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon sugar
1 head cauliflower, leaves removed
Whipped Goat Cheese (recipe below)

Preheat oven to 475°.

Bring water, kosher salt, olive oil, butter, lemon juice, red pepper flakes, and sugar to a boil in a large pot. Add cauliflower, reduce heat, and simmer, turning occasionally, until a knife easily inserts into center, 15-20 minutes.

Gently remove the cauliflower from the pot using 2 slotted spoons (or tongs and a spatula) and drain well. Transfer the cauliflower to a rimmed baking sheet and roast in the oven, rotating sheet halfway through, until brown all over, 30-40 minutes. Drizzle with additional olive oil, if desired. Serve with Whipped Goat Cheese.

IMG_2363 (640x480)

Whipped Goat Cheese

4 ounces goat cheese
3 ounces cream cheese
2 ounces feta cheese
2 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt, to taste

Blend the goat cheese, cream cheese, feta, milk, and olive oil in a food processor until smooth. Season with salt. Transfer whipped goat cheese to a serving bowl. Can be made ahead of time.

IMG_2365 (640x480)

Find the original recipe from Bon Appetit here.

10 Comments on “Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Whipped Goat Cheese”

  1. This sounds delicious! I love both cauliflower and goat cheese but never thought to put them together.

  2. Looks fantastic. I know how you feel about the wine. I wasn’t going to use it either then I just picked up a “two buck chuck” white! 🙂 And the salt…yes, the salt was certainly questionable. I’m hooked on this recipe too. I have a cauliflower in the fridge right now! Thank you for the shout out!

    • You are welcome. I’m so glad I saw your post. It gave me the little push I needed to finally prepare cauliflower this way. I have another head of cauliflower in the fridge right now too. ; ) Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  3. I have so many recipes for whole roasted cauliflower and I still haven’t made it! This looks so delicious! I’ll definitely move it up on the cooking priority list.

  4. LOL you’re hilarious- not wanting to waste wine to boil vegetables! This looks REALLY good though, I definitely want to try it, though I might actually sacrifice some wine for it.

  5. Tammy says:

    That is a gorgeous recipe!


Leave a Reply

