Fennel, Celery, and Apple Slaw

IMG_2517 (640x442)

This is a nice, refreshing slaw perfect for the late days of summer.

I had a bulb of fennel in the fridge that I needed to use. I had to buy fennel for the fronds to use in the Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli recipe I prepared for The Bitten Word’s Cover to Cover Challenge last week. I’m not a big fan of anise/licorice flavor so fennel is not a vegetable I buy often. When I do happen to buy fennel for a recipe that calls for it, I’m often surprised that it’s flavor is not as strong as I anticipated. I really did enjoy this slaw, so I must try to overcome my reluctance to buy fennel in the future.

IMG_2506 (640x501)

Fennel, Celery, and Apple Slaw

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1 bulb fennel with fronds
2 stalks celery, thinly sliced on the diagonal
1 firm apple (Fuji, Granny Smith, Gala, etc…), cored and julienned
salt and pepper, to taste

Combine the olive oil, lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, and sugar in a small Mason jar. Place the lid on the jar and shake to combine. Alternatively, you can whisk the dressing ingredients together in a bowl. Set aside.

Cut the stems and root end off of the fennel bulb. Remove the fronds from the stems and roughly chop them, if needed. Add the fronds to a large bowl. Cut the fennel bulb in half and cut out the core. Thinly slice the fennel bulb and place in the bowl with the fronds.

Add the sliced celery and julienned apple to the bowl. Pour the dressing over the mixture and toss to coat. Season the slaw with salt and pepper and toss again.

 

2 Comments on “Fennel, Celery, and Apple Slaw”

  1. I on the other hand like the flavor of anise/licorice alot, and this combination of fruit and vegetable with the vinagrette looks like a winner to me!


Leave a Reply

