The Bitten Word’s Cover to Cover Challenge – Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli

Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli

I signed on to participate in The Bitten Word’s Cover to Cover Challenge. The gentlemen at The Bitten Word chose the September 2013 issue of Bon Appetit magazine for the challenge. They randomly assigned each of the almost 500 participants one recipe (out of a total of 47) from that issue. With so many participants, several people will be cooking the same recipe. I am looking forward to seeing the results of the challenge on their blog next week.

I was assigned Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli. It’s probably not a recipe I would have chosen on my own. Part of the fun of the challenge was to get out of one’s comfort zone.

Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli 2

I enjoyed preparing the recipe, Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli. It looked good. I followed the recipe as written with the exception of a pinch of freshly ground black pepper. Unfortunately, my husband and I were not crazy about the results. Overall, we found it to be quite bland. The crab and lemon aioli were both so rich and soft (texture-wise) that it was a bit off-putting for our tastes.  We are not mayonnaise people (aioli is very similar to mayo) so that is probably part of the reason we didn’t care for this dish. I couldn’t taste the fennel fronds in the finished product, but thought their inclusion in the dish was visually appealing. We felt like it needed more crunch (perhaps some of the fennel bulb) and something extra to enhance the flavor (a drizzle of sriracha, maybe?). Even with those changes, I don’t think I would make this recipe again. Despite not really caring for this dish, I’m so glad I participated in this event. I’m looking forward to doing it again next year.

Find a copy of the recipe for Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli here.

9-9-13:  The Bitten Word has the Appetizer and Beverage portion of the Cover to Cover Challenge up on their blog. I loved seeing how others interpreted the dish I was assigned.  You can check that out here.

2 Comments on “The Bitten Word’s Cover to Cover Challenge – Crab Toast with Lemon Aioli”

  1. How refreshing to read from someone that they DIDN’T like a recipe they tried. I appreciate your honesty. It certainly is a pretty picture.

    Deborah >


Leave a Reply

