Quick Pickled Jalapenos

IMG_2119 (480x640)

I planted 8 jalapeno plants in my garden this year. So far they have survived the copious amounts of rain we have gotten, leaf-footed bugs, and hornworms. They are producing a fair amount of peppers, although they are not as hot as we would like.

IMG_2108 (640x480)

Last week my husband was out of town and I picked a bunch of peppers. I decided to pickle them since I could not eat them all by myself. These quick pickled jalapenos are not processed in a water bath, so they are kept in the fridge. I actually like them this way because they stay a little crisper. If you would like, add some sliced carrots to the jalapeno and onion mix.

Quick Pickled Jalapenos

10 fresh jalapenos
1/2 small onion, slivered
1 clove garlic, peeled and smashed
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons Kosher salt (or pickling salt)

Bring the vinegar, water, and salt to a boil in a small saucepan. Turn off the heat as soon as the solution comes to a boil. Let cool slightly. Meanwhile, wash the jalapenos and cut off stem end. Slice into rings (or cut into quarters), Place the jalapenos, slivered onions, and smashed garlic clove into a clean Mason jar. Pour the pickling solution over the jalapenos and screw on the lid. Allow to cool on the counter and then refrigerate. Let pickle for 2 to 4 weeks in the fridge before eating.

2 Comments on “Quick Pickled Jalapenos”

  1. […] only 10 jalapenos, but they have been pickled!  I saw a blog post for Quick Pickled Jalapenos by Recipes For Sustenance and I thought I’d give it a try.  It was so simple – I bet it took me no longer than 10 […]


Leave a Reply

