Blueberry Loaf

IMG_1810 (640x410)

I have five blueberry bushes in my yard. I planted three of them the year we moved to this house. I didn’t realize there were already two mature bushes until the next summer. What a nice surprise. The three bushes I planted are still small and not yet producing much, but the other two have quite a few berries on them. For the past week or so, blueberries have been ripening on one of the mature bushes and I have already gotten at least 3 quarts of  beautiful berries off of it.

Pictures 2393 (640x480)

With the mild spring and plenty of rain, the conditions have been ideal for an abundant amount of sweet blueberries. I am just thrilled. Last year I wasn’t so lucky because the mockingbirds and squirrels were relentless and ate almost all of the meager yield of berries.

photo (16) (580x640)

This blueberry loaf is wonderful. It’s cake-like, but not too sweet. My oldest son and I agree that a slice of this blueberry loaf would be a perfect base for strawberries and whipped cream. It would be an excellent 4th of July treat.

Pictures 2400 (640x347)

Blueberry Loaf

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup of fresh or frozen blueberries (no need to defrost the frozen berries)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9 X 5 X 3-inch loaf pan with cooking spray and set aside.

In a small bowl, toss the blueberries with 1 tablespoon of the flour and set aside. This helps to keep the blueberries to sinking to the bottom of the batter. In another bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside.

In a mixing bowl, with electric mixers, cream the butter and sugar. Beat in eggs, milk, and vanilla. Gradually mix in the flour mixture until just combined. Gently fold in the blueberries. Pour into the prepared loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50 – 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for at least 10 minutes before removing from the loaf pan. Let blueberry loaf cool completely on a wire rack.

7 Comments on “Blueberry Loaf”

  1. LFFL says:

    Now that looks really good. I’d like some of that.

  2. That bread looks very good! Many gardeners found their blueberries eaten by birds. Did you lose many to them?

    • Or I should ask, how did you contend with them this year?

    • Last year I lost most of my blueberries to the birds (mockingbirds, mostly) and squirrels. I got super lucky this year. We had a mild, rainy spring and that really increased the amount of blueberries my bushes produced. Also, the mockingbirds built their nest on the other side of our house from my blueberry bushes. The squirrels kept to one bush at the back of my property. My most productive blueberry bush was left alone. I was so lucky. We will see how next year goes.


Leave a Reply

