Summer Squash Bread

Summer Squash Bread

For the past few weeks my CSA box has been overflowing with a variety of squash. Cue ball squash, one ball squash, eight ball squash, zucchini, pattypan, and yellow squash. I’m not a big fan of the ball squash.  They are too watery and lack flavor.  I love zucchini but am a little less fond of the yellow squash.

IMG_1301

Look at all that squash!

IMG_1320

I have actually been having nightmares about yellow squash. There is so much of it! I made a yellow squash casserole recipe a friend gave me and we didn’t like it. I ended up throwing most of it in the trash. That casserole was too sweet and had a texture that reminded us of bread pudding. It got me to thinking that I could probably get away with making my favorite zucchini bread recipe using the yellow squash instead of zucchini.

I did not set my expectations high for the summer squash bread.  I was pleasantly surprised with the results. The bread turned out fantastic! So good. My 3 year old LOVED it! He also enjoyed helping me mix up the ingredients. I’m so happy I have another delicious way to use yellow squash.

IMG_1416 (640x480)

Summer Squash Bread

1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 large eggs
1/2 cup oil
1 1/2 cups (lightly packed) unpeeled yellow squash, shredded – about 4 medium sized yellow squash.
1/2 cup pecans (optional)

Tip for shredding yellow squash: yellow squash have seeds in the middle, so I just grate the sides of the squash and discard the seedy middle.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Coat a 9 X 5 X 3-inch loaf pan (or 3 mini loaf pans)  with cooking spray. Set aside.

Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, whisk together eggs and oil, then stir in shredded yellow squash (and pecans if using). Pour the egg mixture into the flour mixture and mix together by hand. The batter will be pretty stiff. Spoon batter into prepared loaf pan(s) and bake for 50 minutes (30 – 35 minutes for mini loaves) or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool slightly before serving.

4 Comments on “Summer Squash Bread”

  1. Sounds great, can’t wait to try!

  2. […] to find new ways to use it. I had success using yellow squash in Yellow Squash Cornbread and in Summer Squash Bread, so I was pretty sure I could pull it off in chocolate […]

  3. […] 1. Summer Squash Bread – I can’t wait to try this recipe. I’m still drowning in squash (the squash plant in my garden is exploding!) and I’m having trouble finding friends to take some of it off my hands. […]


Leave a Reply

