CSA Box Week # 3 and Pickled Mustard Greens

381405_10151578477449839_866376067_n (640x480)

In this week’s CSA box I got spring onions, diakon radishes, mustard greens, collard greens, mesclun salad mix, red fire leaf lettuce, broccoli, and buttercrunch lettuce. The average temperatures in South Carolina this year have been slightly below the norm, so the cool weather vegetables continue to roll in.

One of the things I like best about getting CSA boxes is that they often contain vegetables that I normally do not buy.  I rarely buy mustard greens. I am not sure why, because I actually like them a lot. They are just a vegetable I do not think to use often. I got such a large bunch of mustard greens this week that I will be able to make 2 or 3 different recipes with them.  I have never pickled greens before, but I know it is often done in Asian countries. Pickled greens are often accompaniments to spicy dishes, especially grilled meats. In Thailand, pickled mustard greens are often served with Khao Soi. I love Khao Soi and have two versions on this blog. Find a beef version here and a chicken version here.

IMG_0804 (480x640)

Pickled Mustard Greens

1 cup water
1 tablespoon sugar
1/2 tablespoon salt
1/8 cup white vinegar
mustard greens
serrano chile, stem removed and split lengthwise

In a small saucepan, combine water, sugar, salt, and vinegar. Bring to a boil over high heat. Stir to make sure the sugar and salt are dissolved, then remove from heat. Cool slightly.

Trim stems off of washed mustard greens. Coarsely chop enough greens to fill a 1-pint Mason jar.

Pack the greens and serrano chile into a clean glass 1-pint Mason jar. Pour the hot liquid over the greens, making sure that they are completely submerged. Screw on the lid and refrigerate for at least 3 days before serving.

3 Comments on “CSA Box Week # 3 and Pickled Mustard Greens”

  1. Tammy says:

    Great idea. My family doesn’t love them and we get quite a lot in our CSA.

    • Thanks, Tammy! The other night I made mustard greens chips (like kale chips). I tossed mustard greens with a little olive oil and some kosher salt and baked them at 350 degrees for about 18 minutes. They were pretty good. Tonight I added my remaining mustard greens to a vegetable and lentil soup. Yum!

  2. […] I was staring into the fridge and the idea of pickling the collards popped into my head. I have pickled mustard greens before and enjoyed using them as a condiment. Why not collards? Y’all, they turned out so […]


Leave a Reply

