Glazed Baby Turnips on a Bed of Turnip Greens

IMG_0757 (640x480)
This past week I got a bunch of baby turnips (with the greens)  in my CSA box. In the past I have pickled turnips and have used them in soups. This time, I wanted to try something new. I prepared the glazed baby turnips and the greens seperately and then served them together. I loved the sweetness of the glazed baby turnips contrasted with the salty and slightly bitter taste of the greens. Oh, I will be doing this again!

Glazed Baby Turnips on a Bed of Turnip Greens

1 pound baby turnips with greens
water
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon sugar
salt

Cut green tops off of the turnips. Trim ends of the turnips and rinse well. Remove stems from the greens and rinse well.

Cut cleaned greens into 1-inch lengths and place in a pot of salted water. Bring to a boil and cook until the greens are tender, about 10 minutes. Just before serving, drain the tender turnip greens in a colander, place on a serving plate, and place the glazed baby turnips on top.

Meanwhile, cut trimmed baby turnips into fourths. Place in an even layer in a skillet and add enough water to reach halfway up the layer of turnips. Next, add the sugar, salt and butter. Bring the turnips to a boil over medium-high heat and cook, stirring often, until the turnips are tender and the water has evaporated, about 10 – 15 minutes. Once the water is evaporated, continue to saute the turnips until they become golden brown. This will take a few more minutes. Once golden, add 1 or 2 tablespoons of water to the pan to create a glaze. Serve the glazed turnips over the turnip greens.

IMG_0764 (640x555)

4 Comments on “Glazed Baby Turnips on a Bed of Turnip Greens”

  1. Tammy says:

    I found I like them if you replace the butter with sesame oil also.

  2. Sherrin Frances says:

    I finally had a chance to try these–WOW. So yummy. I could have eaten the whole pound myself. I used ghee and pure maple syrup instead of butter and sugar, but I don’t think that made a difference in the final product. Yum yum yum.

    • Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment Sherrin. Your turnips looked wonderful. I got more turnips in my CSA box this week (for the 3rd week in a row) so I am about to pickle a batch. Love pickled turnips.


Leave a Reply

