CSA Week One and a Buttercrunch Lettuce Salad with Strawberries and Spring Onions

548505_10151552838649839_517581271_n

Doesn’t that box of produce look amazing? My 3 year old could not wait to get his hands on those awesome strawberries.

I joined a CSA (community supported agriculture) this season and for 12 weeks I will get a box each week filled seasonal vegetables and fruits. The produce in each weekly box is grown within 2 hours of my home and picked within 48 hours of me getting it. Plus, the money I pay for the produce goes directly to the farmer. How awesome is that?

Today was the beginning of the season and I picked up my first CSA box at a location about 5 minutes from my home. I was super excited.

My box included:

2 heads of buttercrunch lettuce
1 head of romaine lettuce
1 bunch of spinach
1 bunch of arugula
broccoli
strawberries
1 bunch of collard greens
1 stalk of bok choy
1 large bunch of spring onions

What am I going to cook with all these interesting veggies? Well, tonight I made a nice salad with the buttercrunch lettuce, strawberries, and spring onions. It was wonderful!

IMG_0641 (640x480)

Buttercrunch Salad with Strawberries and Spring Onions

adjust amounts according to your needs

buttercrunch lettuce, washed, spun dry, and torn into bite-size pieces
fresh strawberries, washed, dried, and sliced
spring onions, washed, ends trimmed, and thinly sliced
pecan pieces (or almonds)
bleu cheese crumbles (or goat cheese)

Dressing:
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
1 tablespoon poppy seeds
1/2 cup oil (canola is fine)

To make the dressing, combine all of the ingredients in a Mason jar. Screw on lid and shake until combined.

Place torn buttercrunch lettuce in a serving bowl. Top with sliced strawberries, spring onions, pecan pieces (or almonds), and bleu cheese (or goat cheese) crumbles. Drizzle with desired amount of dressing and serve.

I can’t wait for my next CSA box!

If you are in South Carolina and are interested in joining a CSA, check into Pinckney’s Produce – http://pinckneysproduce.com/

Here is a similar salad made with spinach, spring onions, strawberries, goat cheese crumbles, and poppyseed dressing:

IMG_0657 (640x480)

4 Comments on “CSA Week One and a Buttercrunch Lettuce Salad with Strawberries and Spring Onions”

  1. Tammy says:

    Great looking salad.

  2. April says:

    Yum yum yum! I’ve been eating similar salads to that since Wednesday, but will have to try that dressing recipe tomorrow!

    • I’ve been having salads at least once a day since I picked up my CSA box. That dressing is pretty good. I had it on spinach with a little arugula mixed in and topped with strawberries, mandrian oranges, almonds and goat cheese. OMG! Today I’m doing a salad with arugula, avocados, grapefruit, and spring onions. Can’t wait!


Leave a Reply

