Pineapple Crumble

IMG_0576 (640x480)

I had not initially planned on making a dessert for our Easter meal. I had some fresh pineapple I wanted to use. The pineapple wasn’t ripe enough to just eat and since I’m doing this gluten-free diet for my thyroid, I couldn’t go to my stand-by quick bread recipe or make a cake. I’m a big fan of fruit crumbles and decided to go that route. I have made all kinds of fruit crumbles, but this is the first time making one with pineapple. I thought the pineapple would compliment the coconut ingredients I planned on using. I was right. There is a reason why pineapple and coconut are a classic combination.

The crumble turned out well. It was especially good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. The pineapple I used wasn’t ripe, so it didn’t release very many juices. The addition of a tablespoon of pineapple or orange juice would have probably helped. I also think I should have added some shredded coconut. Not much, perhaps just a tablespoon of shredded coconut with the pineapple (or in the crumble topping).

Pineapple Crumble

1 1/2 to 2 cups of fresh pineapple, chopped
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
1/8 cup coconut flour
2 tablespoons coconut sugar (or brown sugar), plus 1 tablespoon more if fruit needs more sweetness
2 tablespoons sliced almonds (or other type of nuts), optional
2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted (or butter)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. F.

Place chopped pineapple in a small baking dish. If the pineapple is not very sweet, you can sprinkle the fruit with a tablespoon of coconut sugar.

To make the crumble topping, combine oats, coconut flour, and 2 tablespoons of coconut sugar in a small bowl. Drizzle in the melted coconut oil and mix the ingredients until the oil is well incorporated and the mixture is crumbly. Top the pineapple with the crumble topping and bake in a 350 degree oven for 30 to 40 minutes or until the crumble topping is golden brown.

Serve warm or at room temperature. Vanilla ice cream makes a great accompaniment.

One Comment on “Pineapple Crumble”

  1. Reblogged this on teachkitchenskillsand more and commented:
    Good one. nice to see a bit of thinking went into it.


Leave a Reply

