Gluten-Free Coconut Blueberry Muffins

IMG_0423 (640x480)

I am working on eliminating wheat and ultimately, gluten from my diet. I have had thyroid disease for 10 years now. I take medicine every day, but my thyroid issues persist (despite blood test results in the “normal” range) and continue to get worse. I’ve been reading lately that a gluten-free diet can be beneficial for those with thyroid disease. I’m willing to try it. This isn’t my first dance with a gluten-free diet. In my 20’s I went on a gluten-free, sugar-free, dairy-free diet for a year. I never felt better in my life. I think it will be much easier this go round since  there are so many more gluten-free convenience products available.

The kids and I went to Whole Foods the other night to pick up a few gluten-free things. I got some coconut flour and coconut palm sugar. Came home and got busy pinning coconut flour recipes. After reading through half a dozen coconut muffin recipes, I came up with this one. I think they turned out well. My family wasn’t too impressed. They are not coconut fans. I liked the texture. Not bad for gluten (and grain) free.

Gluten-Free Coconut Blueberry Muffins

3 eggs
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup coconut palm sugar
1/2 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder (Rumford and Clabber Girl brands are both gluten free)
3 tablespoons virgin coconut oil (melted)
pinch of salt
1/4 cup fresh (not frozen) blueberries

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

In a blender, combine the eggs, coconut flour, coconut sugar, baking powder, melted coconut oil, and salt until smooth. Pour batter into a bowl and stir in the blueberries.

IMG_0414 (640x480)

Line 6 regular-sized muffin tins with baking cups and divide the batter equally between them.

Bake the muffins at 400 degrees F for 17 minutes or until done.

Serve muffins warm with butter.

6 Comments on “Gluten-Free Coconut Blueberry Muffins”

  1. Amanda says:

    Those sound really good. I hope you find relief with your thyroid condition on a gluten-free diet. I’ve heard many people have their thyroid symptoms resolved being gluten-free, so hopefully it will work for you.

  2. joyskitchen says:

    I have a thyroid condition as well and between that and my symptoms – was advised by my Naturalpath to go gluten free as its something about the thydroxian (sp??) and gluten molecules are only slightly off from each other – ??? in any case I feel much better & more clear headed gf. Thanks for the great recipe – I will try it! I’m also going to reblog to my readership = those sound so yummy!

    • I’m glad a GF diet has helped you feel better. Did you feel bad when you first started the diet? I’m 3 days into it and I had a massive headache all day yesterday and feel wiped out today. Obviously, my body is detoxing. Looking forward to feeling better Thanks for your comment. I’m following your blog now.

  3. joyskitchen says:

    Reblogged this on Blogging from Joy's Kitchen and commented:
    Oh my goodness – don’t these look delish and they are gluten free! I haven’t tried using coconut flour yet but am looking forward to trying it! Thanks to Recipes for Sustenance for posting!


Leave a Reply

