Crockpot Baked Potatoes

IMG_0229 (640x480)

Did y’all know you could bake potatoes in the crockpot? I didn’t until last night.

Several years ago, I bought a crockpot to use in my classroom when I was teaching, but never really used it at home. It has been hidden away in a dark cabinet over the fridge for several years (although I think I pulled it out once to serve warm queso dip at a party we had). In the past few months, I have decided to try to use the slow cooker more. I have been trying out crockpot recipes here and there and am becoming a fan. I was finally able to pull off a perfect pot roast using the slow cooker. I also made a decent shredded beef with pepperocinis and some very tender chicken breasts with lemon and rosemary. Last night I finally tried baked potatoes in the crockpot.

I was skeptical about how the potatoes would turn out. I didn’t think they would get tender, but they did. The insides were moist and fluffy, but the skin was also very soft. Typically, I like to bake my potatoes in the oven so that the skin gets crispy, often giving up perfectly cooked insides. That’s just my preference.  I didn’t notice much difference in taste. One advantage I see with baking potatoes in the crockpot is not having the oven heat up the house. This would be espcially nice during the hot South Carolina summers.

You can bake up to as many potatoes as you can fit in your crockpot at one time.

Generally, I like my baked potatoes dressed with butter, sour cream, and salt. Last night, I topped my potato with some frozen broccoli florets that I zapped in the microwave and some cheese sauce I had made for my son’s macaroni (or as he says, “macamoni) and cheese. It was amazing. So good.

IMG_0232 (640x475)

Crockpot Baked Potatoes

medium sized baking potatoes (I like Russets best)
olive oil
Kosher salt
foil

Wash and dry the potatoes. Place each potato on a piece of foil. Drizzle each potatoe with a little bit of olive oil and sprinkle with Kosher salt before wrapping with the foil. Place the foil wrapped potatoes in the crockpot and cook for 8 hours on low or for 4 hours on high.

2 Comments on “Crockpot Baked Potatoes”

  1. […] to cook the sweet potatoes so that I could mash them to use in other recipes. I had great success baking potatoes in the crockpot, so I decided to bake my sweet potatoes that way. I was happy with the results. My sweet potatoes […]


Leave a Reply

