Cornbread

IMG_7029

This is currently my favorite cornbread recipe. This is not like the cornbread I grew up with in Texas. The dense Southern-style cornbread my parents and grandparents made never had flour nor sugar included in the recipe. It was always made with buttermilk. The very addition of sugar makes this  “Yankee” cornbread. I actually like the lighter, sweeter, more cake-like Yankee cornbread. I also like beans in my chili. Shhhhh…..don’t tell anyone.

Cornbread

1 cup corn meal
1 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup milk
1/4 cup oil
2 eggs

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray a cast iron skillet or 9 inch pan with cooking spray. Set aside.

Combine corn meal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.

Combine the milk, oil, and 2 eggs in a small bowl.

Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, mixing until just moistened.

Pour into prepared pan and bake in the preheated oven 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown and toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

2 Comments on “Cornbread”

  1. Thanks for the like and following me. When I saw a few recipes listed in the notification email I got I had to check you out. I made cornbread last nite… wish I’d thought to throw the yellow squash from my fridge in it!! I forwarded your URL to a culinary chef friend who is crazy about her veggie garden, too.

    • Thank you! I enjoyed your blog post, “What I Really Hate About South Carolina.” A couple of my friends shared it on Facebook. Some of the comments were unbelievable. A friend of mine thought you responded to the comments “like a boss.” : ) Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I look forward to following your blog.


Leave a Reply

