Crusty Bread

crusty bread

Isn’t this a beautiful loaf of crusty bread?

I found the recipe on Pinterest. This crusty bread is incredibly easy to prepare and it is comparable to something you would pay $4 or more for at a bakery. All you need to prepare this impressive loaf is an enameled cast iron pot with a lid.

I mixed up the bread dough and let it sit overnight. I baked it the next day. The bread bakes in the lidded enameled cast iron pot at 450 degrees F. That’s a pretty high temperature. There was a chemical/plastic smell in the house while the bread baked.  I’m pretty sure it was the handle of my enameled cast iron pot. My particular pot (Lodge brand) is oven safe to 500 degrees F., but I will probably remove the handle when I make this bread again.

I’m just going to post a link to the blog where the recipe originated. Janet at Simply So Good has detailed instructions on making the bread, along with fabulous pictures and many bread variations.  She also has a Q & A section for the recipe. Apparently, it is very, very popular. I can see why….this bread is amazing!

http://simplysogood.blogspot.com/2010/03/crusty-bread.html

2 Comments on “Crusty Bread”

  1. oooo I love bread! Posting a recipe for linseed and wholegrain spelt bread tommorow. Your bread looks delish!


Leave a Reply

