Sour Cream Waffles

IMG_6923 (640x480)

I have a problem. I have too much sour cream in my fridge. Publix had a buy-one-get-one free special on sour cream. With that special and coupons, I got the two 16 ounce cartons of sour cream for 7 cents each. I couldn’t pass up that deal, even though I already had some sour cream at home. Now I’m looking for ways to use all that sour cream (besides dips). This recipe is wonderful. These are possibly the best waffles I have ever made. Even the super, mega picky tween liked them. Win!

Sour Cream Waffles

1 egg
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup milk
3 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat your waffle iron.

Meanwhile, in a large mixing bowl, whisk the egg, sour cream, milk, melted butter, and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients. Gently whisk the dry ingredients into the sour cream mixture until smooth.

Use the batter to prepare waffles according to your waffle iron’s manufacturer’s directions. I recommend spraying the waffle iron with nonstick spray (do this even if your waffle iron has a nonstick surface).

Leave a Reply

