Hard Apple Cider Bread

My husband was obviously trying to get me drunk last Saturday night because he kept opening bottles of hard apple cider for me to drink.  Since my last pregnancy and the subsequent breastfeeding, I’m out of practice and my alcohol tolerance is a bit low. I was only able to drink one hard apple cider and ended up with two open bottles. I hate to waste anything, so I put them in the fridge. Sunday morning I woke up thinking about beer bread and thought I could substitute hard cider for beer in my favorite beer bread recipe. I tweaked my recipe slightly, adding a bit more (brown) sugar and a dash of cinnamon. The house smelled so good and apple-y while the bread was baking. I was very happy with the results. The bread was not overly sweet, but had a definite apple taste. We enjoyed it. It made great toast the next day too. I think the additon of chopped apples and walnuts would be an excellent. I will have to try that next time.

Hard Apple Cider Bread

3 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
1/4 cup brown sugar
1  12 oz. bottle hard cider (I used Woodchuck Draft Cider ~ Granny Smith Varietal) at room temperature

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine flour, cinnamon, baking powder, salt, and brown sugar in a large bowl. Add the hard cider and stir until just combined.

Spray a bread loaf pan with cooking spray, then pour the batter into the pan. Bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Cool completely before removing the loaf from the bread pan to slice.

3 Comments on “Hard Apple Cider Bread”

  1. April says:

    This sounds fantastic!! I never thought about using cider in beer bread! Maybe this will be a good way to get rid of the last Woodchuck Winter beer in the fridge that I am not a huge fan of.

  2. […] it. I still had some left over and didn’t want it to go to waste. I had success making a quick bread with hard apple cider, so I thought I would give making bread with the hard root beer a try. It turned out great! It […]


Leave a Reply

