French Potato Salad

I made this potato salad for our Memorial Day meal. I had some red potatoes I needed to use and wanted to make something vegan for my mom. A potato salad dressed with a vinaigrette was just the thing. I’m not a big fan of mayonnaise, so I rarely fix traditional potato salad anyway.  This potato salad was sooooo good. It was surprisingly creamy and very flavorful. I loved the addition of the capers. It is perhaps the best potato salad I have ever made.

French Potato Salad

2 pounds baby red potatoes, scrubbed and cut into bite-sized chunks
1/2 small sweet or red onion, peeled and thinly sliced
1 stalk celery, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon capers
1/3 cup olive oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1  tablespoon dijon or brown mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

Cook potatoes in boiling salted water until tender, about 10 minutes. Drain in a colander.

Combine olive oil, vinegar, mustard, salt, and pepper in a mason jar. Screw on a lid and shake dressing until well mixed. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine potatoes, onion, celery, and capers. Pour dressing over the vegetables and toss gently to combine. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

You can make this potato salad more colorful by using red onion and different colored potatoes.

French Potato Salad 2

2 Comments on “French Potato Salad”

  1. Yum! Glad I stumbled across this. I’ll have to try this one. Thanks for posting! Your blog looks great! 🙂


Leave a Reply

