Orange Tofu and Broccoli

Three weeks ago I tore my calf muscle while testing for my green belt in Tae Kwon Do. Recovery has been slow and I am still unable to walk. Luckily, I can still cook. My kitchen is small enough that I can hobble around on one foot and do what I need to do. My hubby has been out of town quite a bit the past two weeks, so my vegan mom flew in to help me take care of my kids (especially the crazy toddler) and the house while I am recovering. This is one of the vegan meals I prepared for her. I served it with brown rice and everyone seemed to enjoy it.

Orange Tofu and Broccoli

Canola oil (about 1/4 cup)
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 (16 ounce) package firm tofu, drained and cut into 1-inch pieces
4 tablespoons soy sauce
1 cup orange juice
1/2 cup warm water
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon sriracha (or to taste)
2 teaspoons cornstarch
2 tablespoon canola oil
1 bunch broccoli, seperated into bite-sized florets
3 carrots, sliced on a diagonal

Lay the tofu slices on paper towels and then pat with additional paper towels to remove moisture. Heat the canola oil in a wok over medium-high heat. Place the 1/4 cup cornstarch in a dish. Coat the tofu slices with the cornstarch and gently shake off excess.

Fry the tofu in batches in the hot oil until golden brown on all sides (about 5 minutes). Drain tofu on paper towels. Allow wok to cool, and wipe clean.

In a bowl, combine the soy sauce, orange juice, water, sugar, sriracha, garlic, and cornstarch. Mix until smooth and set aside.

Heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of canola oil in the wok over high heat. Stir-fry the broccoli and carrots until tender. Form a well in the center of the vegetables, and pour in the orange sauce. Bring sauce to a boil and then add the fried tofu. Continue cooking until the sauce is thickened and the tofu and vegetables are well coated.

Leave a Reply

