Vegetarian Baked Beans

Baked Beans 2

I learned to make baked beans this way from my Grandmother.  I don’t think she ever had an exact recipe and neither do I.  My baked beans differ each time I make them depending on what canned beans I have in the pantry.  Minced jalapenos are a nice addition to the beans.

Vegetarian Baked Beans

3 cans of beans (I used pinto, navy, and kidney), drained
1 small onion, minced
yellow mustard
ketchup
bbq sauce
brown sugar
salt and pepper

Mix the beans together in a casserole dish.  Add the minced onion. Squirt in some ketchup and bbq sauce (about 1/4 cup of each) and a little yellow mustard (about 1 tablespoon).  Add the brown sugar (about 2 – 3 tablespoons worth).  Season with salt and pepper and stir well.  Bake at 350 degrees until hot (about 30 – 45 minutes).

One Comment on “Vegetarian Baked Beans”


Leave a Reply

