Blackberry Crumble

From August 4, 2005:  Last week, we met some friends at the Westmoreland Berry Farm and picked the most stunning blackberries I have ever seen.  Not only were they huge, they were also sweet and juicy…honestly, the best blackberries I have ever had.  I froze more than half of the 6 pounds I got for later use.  We ate many of the fresh berries out of hand.  With what was left, I made a blackberry crumble.

Crumbles are very easy to make.  Different fruits or a combination of fruits (what’s in season) can be used to make a variety of crumbles.  I have used apples, blueberries, and peaches.  Peaches and blueberries work well together.  If you don’t have fresh fruit, use frozen.  I like a lot of crumble topping, so sometimes I’ll double the recipe to get the ratio of topping/fruit I like.


Blackberry Crumble

Topping:
1 cup quick-cooking oats (I used 1/2 cup oats and 1/2 cup 9-grain cereal)
1/2 cup finely chopped pecans
1/3 cup wheat germ or oat bran
2 tablespoons brown sugar
Pinch of cinnamon
4 tablespoons butter

At least 2 cups fresh blackberries (frozen can be used instead)
1 – 2 tablspoons sugar (I used 1 packet of Splenda)

Preheat the oven to 350  degrees.

Combine the first 6 topping ingredients in a small bowl to make the crumble topping.

Wash the fresh blackberries and toss with sugar.  Pour the fruit into a lightly oiled 9-by 9-inch baking pan or round pie plate and pat in evenly. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the fruit.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, or until the topping is golden and turning crisp. Allow to cool until just warm, then serve on its own or topped whipped cream, ice cream, or yogurt.

Leave a Reply

