Spicy Posole Soup

This is one of my favorite soups and my absolute favorite way to eat kale (which is highly nutritious, if not the most nutritious veggie).  Below is the recipe I started with.  I have tweaked it to suit my tastes by:  using more vegetable broth, adding a whole bunch of kale instead of just 3 cups, adding 2 (15 oz.) cans of hominy instead for only 2 cups, and by adding fresh minced jalapenos or serranos instead of canned green chiles.  I also add chopped zucchini towards the end of cooking.  My version ends up being chocked full of veggies and makes quite a bit more than the original recipe.  This soup freezes really well and I always try to have some in the freezer for quick a lunch or dinner.  Sometimes I like to crumble some tortilla chips into the soup while I’m eating it.

Spicy Posole Soup

1 medium onion, chopped
6 medium cloves garlic, chopped
4 cups vegetable broth
2 TBS fresh lime juice
3 cups kale rinsed and chopped fine (remove stems)
2 cups canned hominy, drained
15oz can diced tomatoes
4oz can diced green chili
3 TBS chopped fresh cilantro
salt and pepper to taste

Heat 1 T. olive oil in medium sized soup pot. Sauté onion over medium heat for 5 minutes stirring frequently, until translucent.  Add garlic and continue to sauté for another minute.  Add remaining ingredients except cilantro.  Bring to a boil on high heat.  Once it comes to a boil, reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 15 minutes, uncovered.  Add cilantro, salt and pepper.

Serves 4

2 Comments on “Spicy Posole Soup”

  1. Looks great, I love the vegetarian aspect of it.

    • Thank you! This is still one of my all-time favorite soups. I wrote this post (and took the picture) over 8 years ago! I think I need to make this soup soon and reblog it with new pictures. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.


Leave a Reply

