Tor-pea-does

Tor-pea-does

My dad concocted tor-pea-does many years ago.  Hot black-eyed peas topped with shredded cheese and salsa, wrapped up in warm corn tortillas.  In addition to the cheese and salsa, I like to add pickled jalapenos and sour cream to mine.  Tor-pea-does are such a comforting dish.  Simple, quick, inexpensive, and a delightful mesh of flavors.

Tor-pea-does bring back good memories from my childhood….my family sitting around the table playfully boasting about how many tor-pea-does we could eat.  I can eat 4!  Well, I can eat 5!  Oh yeah, I can eat 6!  Fun times.  Tor-pea-does are an all-time favorite and a dish that I hold dear.

I make sure to keep a few cans of black eyed peas and fresh corn tortillas in the pantry for this quick meal.

You don’t really need a recipe for tor-pea-does…just heat up some black eyed peas, throw them in a warmed corn tortilla (you can zap it in the microwave for 15 seconds or toast in a hot pan), and then top with cheese and salsa (add sour cream, cilantro, jalapenos, or anything else you would like).  Don’t overfill or the whole thing will fall apart (if that happens, just bust out the fork).

Leave a Reply

