Penne Pasta with Spinach and Feta Cheese

From March 6, 2006:  I made this quick and easy pasta dish for dinner tonight. I loved the sunflower seeds in it! I did things a little bit different than the recipe states. As soon as the spinach wilted a bit, I added the cooked penne and the feta cheese to the mixture and tossed it all together in the pan. I used the Barilla Penne Plus which is a great tasting multi-grain pasta, which contains more fiber and protein than regular pasta, and even has omega-3 fatty acids. The next time I make this recipe, I will use chopped fresh rosemary instead of the dried. Tonight, without thinking, I measured out the dried rosemary and dumped it into the pan without first picking out the woody stems and crushing it a bit in the palm of my hand. I want to thank PT, list mom of The Feral Vegetarian for sharing this recipe.

Penne Pasta with Spinach and Feta Cheese

1/4 cup sunflower seeds
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup olive oil
1 tsp. dried rosemary
1 tsp. dried basil
1 tsp. sea salt ~ or to taste
1/2 bunch spinach, washed and chopped
1 pound penne pasta
1 cup feta cheese, crumbled

Saute seeds and garlic in the olive oil for 2 minutes. Add herbs and spices, and stir. Add spinach and tomatoes, cooking until the greens wilt down a bit, about 2 minutes. Serve over penne pasta, cooked al dente. Crumble feta cheese over top before serving.

Leave a Reply

