Beer Bread

beer bread

I have been making this beer bread for years.  It’s sooo quick and easy.  Shiner Bock is my favorite beer for making this bread.  This week I used a Bud Light that someone left at my house after “poker night” and it turned out surprisingly good.  I don’t recommend Heineken for making it though….funky tasting results.

Beer Bread

3 cups all-purpose flour
3 T. sugar
1 T. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
12 ounces beer, at room temperature

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Lightly oil (or spray with nonstick cooking spray) a 9 X 5 inch loaf pan; set aside.

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  Add the beer and mix with a wooden spoon until just combined.

Transfer batter to the prepared pan.  Bake for 35 to 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean and the top is light golden.  Turn out onto a rack to cool.

One Comment on “Beer Bread”

  1. […] morning I woke up thinking about beer bread and thought I could substitute hard cider for beer in my favorite beer bread recipe. I tweaked my recipe slightly, adding a bit more (brown) sugar and a dash of cinnamon. The house […]


Leave a Reply

