Asparagus Cheese Soup

Asparagus Cheese Soup

asparagus cheese soupFrom June 11, 2006:  I got this recipe from my friend, Robin.  It’s a very rich soup and very much like my Broccoli and Cheese Soup recipe.  I made a half batch of this particular recipe and doubled the amount of asparagus.  Somehow that made me feel better about consuming all that cheese and milk.  I also left out the thyme, because I don’t like it much.  I also added the cheese before I added the asparagus.  I felt the cheese melted easier that way. This is a delicious soup.

Asparagus Cheese Soup

1/4 cup butter or margarine
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
6 cups milk
4 cups fresh asparagus (1-inch pieces), cooked and drained or 2 packages (10 oz.) frozen cut asparagus, thawed
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese
4 tsp. minced fresh thyme or 1 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
additional shredded cheddar (optional)

In a 3 quart saucepan, melt butter. Stir in flour, salt and pepper until smooth. Gradually add milk and bring to a boil. Boil and stir for two minutes.  Add asparagus and heat through. Reduce heat.  Add the cheese, and thyme. Cook until cheese is melted, stirring frequently (do not boil). Garnish with additional cheese if desired.

Yield: 6 to 8 servings (2 quarts)

Leave a Reply

