Vegetarian Taquitos

Vegetarian Taquitos

vegetarian taquitos

From September 17, 2005: When I first saw this recipe, I thought the combination of carrots and cheese was odd. I was intrigued and had to try them. So I made these tonight and they rocked. So simple and so good. I served them with sour cream (Tofutti Sour Supreme for me) and salsa.  Guacamole would also be very good. I used pepper jack for a kick. 

Vegetarian Taquitos

equal parts of shredded carrots and Monterrey jack cheese
fresh corn tortillas
toothpicks
oil to fry taquitos in

Combine carrots and cheese in a bowl. Warm corn tortillas (I place 3 or 4 on a plate, cover with a damp paper towel and microwave for about 30 seconds)to make them easier to work with and to keep them from cracking when rolled. Place about 1 tablespoon of filling on the lower portion of the warmed tortilla. Be careful not to overfill. Roll as tightly as possible without busting open the tortilla. Secure with a toothpick. Place taquito in hot oil and fry until golden and crispy. Serve (on lettuce is a nice touch) with salsa, sour cream, and/or guacamole.

Leave a Reply

