Drunken Noodles (Pad Ki Mow)

Drunken Noodles (Pad Ki Mow)

drunken noodles with beef

From July 23, 2005:  I made a vegetarian version of this very easy dish for my family while I was in Texas and everyone loved it.  I made a few changes (aside from doubling the recipe):  I added  some rehydrated and chopped shiitake mushrooms at the same time I added the onions and peppers.  I left out the kaffir lime leaves because I wasn’t able to find them.  I wasn’t able to find broad flat rice noodles, so I used the widest rice noodles I could find at the Asian market (chantaboon, I think).  I served the drunken noodles with fresh bean sprouts, chopped peanuts, Thai basil, culantro, cilantro, fried garlic,  and sliced Thai chiles and let everyone add those toppings to their noodles as they wish.  The picture shows a batch of drunken noodles that I made using beef (I have been craving beef lately…not sure why).  I just added the sliced beef right after stir-frying the garlic and chiles and before adding the other ingredients. 

Drunken Noodles (Pad Ki Mow)

2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 clove garlic (minced)
2 small red or green chiles
4 ounces Sen Yai noodles (broad flat rice noodles)
1 small onion, diced
1 medium tomato, diced
4 kaffir lime leaves
6 sweet basil leaves (thai basil)
1 teaspoon dark soy sauce
2 tablespoons light soy sauce
1/2 teaspoon granulated sugar
1 small sweet red or green pepper, diced

In a wok or skillet, heat the oil until a light haze appears.  Add the garlic and chiles, and fry until the garlic is golden brown.  Add the noodles, stir; add the remaining ingredients and stir well until the peppers begin to cook but are still al dente.  Turn onto a platter and serve.

Makes 2 servings

Leave a Reply

