Chicken and Noodles

Chicken and Noodles

This recipe is based on my great-grandmother, Lola’s recipe for chicken and noodles.  It was her signature dish.  She served it in a small cafe she had with her daughter outside of Tulsa, Oklahoma.  She also fixed it every time we went to visit her.  I made a few changes to her recipe to suit my tastes.  She poached a whole chicken (using both white and dark meat, as well as the poaching liquid) for her version. I just use chicken breasts in my version.  She added yellow food coloring to her chicken and noodles and I remember finding the color off-putting when I was a little girl.  I’m not a big fan of artificial coloring, so I leave it out when I prepare this recipe. I also like more noodles than chicken, so I make a double batch of noodles, by simply doubling the recipe.  I tend to use lots of flour when making the noodles.  The dough absorbs lots of it, and that is okay.  The flour keeps the noodles from sticking together and ultimately thickens the broth somewhat. I like my chicken and noodles on the brothy side, so sometimes I add more broth to get my desired result. I like it served over mashed potatoes.  This dish is the ultimate in comfort food.  It’s simple and hearty.   I’m not sure if my great-grandmother would approve of my version, but I love it.

Chicken and Noodles

2 – 4 chicken breasts
chicken broth (2 cans)
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter, cut into cubes
1 egg
1/2 eggshell water

Poach chicken in enough water to cover over medium-high heat until it comes to a boil, then reduce to medium.  Cook for 20 minutes.  Skim off foam as it comes to the top.  Add 1 can chicken broth.  Cover.  Simmer 15 minutes more until tender.  Remove chicken and let stand until cool enough to handle.  Remove skin and bones, if any.  Shred chicken.  Set aside.  Reserve cooking liquid as well.

Combine flour and salt.  Add butter and use a fork, pastry cutter, or your hands to incorporate.  Add egg and water and mix well.  Flour counter.  Divide dough in half and roll each piece out very thinly.  Cut dough into thin strips (a pizza cutter works well for this).  Toss the noodles with extra flour and set aside (up to 1 hour).

Heat up reserved chicken cooking broth.  Add some of the remaining can of chicken broth.  Mix 2 tablespoons flour to the chicken broth still in can.  Add to heating broth.  Season with salt and pepper.  Once simmering, add noodles, stirring to make sure they don’t stick.  Cook at a simmer for about 20 minutes.  Add reserved shredded chicken and heat through.  Serve chicken and noodles over mashed potatoes, if desired

Leave a Reply

