Pico de Gallo

pico

My grape tomato plant is at its peak and the sweet little tomatoes are abundant. My jalapeno plants are also weighed down with plenty of bright green peppers. Pico de gallo is a perfect way for me to utilize my fresh tomatoes and chiles. During the summer months, I make pico quite often. We eat it as a snack with tortilla chips. We also enjoy pico on eggs for breakfast, on tacos, fajitas, burritos, and nachos. I like a couple of spoonfuls in my tortilla soup. tonight we used pico in black bean and chicken soft tacos.

For a nice variation, I’ll add tiny cooked salad shrimp to freshly made pico de gallo and serve with tortilla chips. It’s a terrific combination and a crowd pleaser, Great for parties and potlucks. Add chopped chipotles in adobo sauce for a delicious smoky version.

Pico de Gallo

I don’t usually measure when I make this pico, So all amounts are approximate. You can’t mess this up.

2 cups ripe tomatoes, chopped
1/2 onion, chopped
4 jalapenos, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
handful of cilantro leaves, chopped
juice from 1 small lime
ground cumin
salt

Combine ingredients. Season with a dash or two of cumin and salt.

2 Comments on “Pico de Gallo”

  1. […] of your choice: shredded cheese sour cream salsa or pico de gallo guacamole fresh cilantro, chopped fresh jalapenos, sliced (or throw whole jalapenos in with the […]

  2. […] or pico de gallo guacamole or avocado cream fresh cilantro, chopped fresh jalapenos, sliced (or throw whole […]


Leave a Reply

