Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita

Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita 2  (640x639)

My husband is at an academic conference in San Antonio. Last night he posted a picture on Facebook of a margarita he was drinking at a restaurant named Rosario’s. It was called Pica Pica and it was made of cucumber and jalapeno-infused reposado tequila, lime juice, Cointreau, and agave. He said it was the best margarita he has ever had. It looked really good. It just so happened that I got cucumbers in my CSA box this week. I had to try to recreate his drink. Why should he be the only one to enjoy such a libation? I think I did a good job. This margarita is amazing!

When making this drink, don’t use those waxed cucumbers you find at the grocery store. Yuck. If those are the only cucumbers you can find, peel them before using in the margarita. The spice level of the margarita will vary depending on the jalapeno you get.

Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita (599x640)

Cucumber Jalapeño Margarita

Makes 1 strong margarita

4 slices fresh jalapeno
4 slices cucumber
1 – 2 teaspoons sugar, to taste
2 1/2 ounces tequila (blanco if you have it, but I used Jose Cuervo Gold and it was fine)
1 1/2 ounces triple sec (or Cointreau or Grand Marnier)
juice from 1 lime
ice

kosher salt

Prepare your glass by rubbing the rim with the cut side of a lime. Pour a little kosher salt onto a small plate or into a container. Dip the rim into the salt. Alternatively, use a margarita rimmer. Set aside until ready for use.

In a cocktail shaker, muddle (press and break-up) the jalapeno and cucumber slices. I used the handle-end of a large wooden spoon.

Muddle Cucumber and Jalapeno (640x626)

Add the sugar, tequila, triple sec, and lime juice. Add ice. Place the lid on the shaker and shake well. Strain into a prepared glass. Add ice and serve. I actually don’t strain my margaritas and think the chunks of cucumber and jalapeno give the drink more flavor. The drink does tend to get spicier as you get closer to the bottom. : )

7 Comments on “Cucumber Jalapeno Margarita”

  1. That margarita is making my mouth water! I used to frequent Rosario’s when I lived in San Antonio. I was more of a Mexican beer guy myself. Didn’t try the drinks. Glad to know it’s still going.

    • My husband liked Rosario’s. He got chicken enchiladas with a peanut mole sauce. I’ve never had bad food in San Antonio. Such a great city.

    • Gerard, you will enjoy this. I asked my hubby to bring home tortillas and hot sauce from San Antonio. Last night he was eating at Tito’s and texted me that they had tortillas and hot sauce available to take home. He bought some and they brought the hot sauce out to him in a stryofoam cup with a piece of foil over the top. LOL! No hot sauce for me. He said he made it onto the plane with 8 flour tortillas. I’m counting down the hours until he gets home. : ) I miss fresh tortillas.

      • That is funny!! I don’t recall Tito’s, There are so many good restaurants in San Antonio. One of my favorites is “La Fogata” on Vance Jackson. And speaking of tortillas, I always have to smile when I think of the tortilleria named “Sanitary Tortillas” in S.A. http://www.sanitarytortillacompany.com You can’t miss the big letters as you’re driving on I-35 past the downtown area.

      • I’ve been to La Fogata! It was very good. Memorable margaritas. : ) I don’t recall seeing the Sanitary Tortillas building. There is something unappealing about the brand name “Sanitary” for food products.

  2. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    Yum! Hopefully we will have jalapeños and cucumbers in the garden soon!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 431 other followers